Building a fiction writing practice

So much I want to do, so little time.

Live to Write - Write to Live

camera typewriterOnce again, I used Susannah Conway’s “Unraveling the Year Ahead” to set goals for the upcoming year. Of note, I really like Susannah’s in depth analysis of the year gone by and the high level goal setting for the coming year, but this year, I’ve also incorporated Ally Piper’s workbook Big Vision 2015 – Set Your Direction to manage my goals month to month.

My focus word of 2015 is

 Practice

I want to practice many things. I want to build a running practice and a yoga practice. I want to practice making healthy food choices. I also want to formalize my fiction writing practice.

I tend to focus on efficiency and that does not necessarily lead to the best fiction writing. It’s a rare few writers who can bang out a best seller on the first draft.  Good fiction writing takes construction and destruction, writing…

View original post 493 more words

Leave a Reply

